DIY Gel Nails

IMG_20150118_221420

Going to the salon can seriously be a pain in the butt. It’s expensive, the waits are ridic, and once you’re in the chair the nail tech is way too rough. An alternative is buying the uv light and doing your own gel nails at home, but even that can begin to break the bank.  This mani Monday I bring you diy gel nail without the light or the expensive polishes.

What you’ll need:

A Gel top coat

Your favorite color polish

Top coat

What I used was  Gelous Nail Gel by ACI, Nicole Deeply in Love by O.P.I, and Sally Hansen Complete Salon Manicure Ultra Wear Top Coat. This process was pretty simple, but make sure you five yourself at least 20 minutes to make sure they dry.

CAM03515

 How To:

 1. apply thin even coat of gel top coat — allow this to dry for 1 minute

2. apply a thin even coat of the nail polish you chose –This I had to let dry for about 4 minutes but I’ve tried other polishes that dried in about 2.

3. Repeat step one

4. Repeat step two

5. Apply a think even coat of the non-gel top coat– allow to dry for about 30 seconds

6. Apply another coat of the gel polish

After all the coats dried my nails were left with a beautiful, shiny finish.  They lasted and looked beautiful for about 5 days before they chipped.  The real M.V.P here was the gelous polish. I’ve tried other gel top coats, and they didn’t last as long. So like I said it takes time, but it’s definitely worth it. Let me know if you try it and what you think. Find more photos, finger nails, and fun through social media:

Instagram: Tiffsaysgo

Twitter: _tiffandcoco

Facebook: Tiffandcoco

One Comment Add yours

Let us know what you think!