Natural Beauty: Victoria and Dasia

For the first time on the blog we have a natural beauty duo.  Meet Victoria and Dasia, a mom and daughter curly duo we just can’t get enough of.

Introduce yourselves

Mom : My name is Victoria and I am a stay at home mom and a substitute teacher. I am 38 years old and I live in Augusta, GA. I became natural because i was tired of putting chemicals in my hair.

Daughter: My name is Dasia and I am a college student. I am 18 and currently live in Augusta, GA. I went natural by accident after some bad chemical processes but I am so happy that it happened.

unnamed (2)

What are your hobbies?

Victoria: I like to read, sing and spend time with my family.

Dasia: I have been cheerleading since I was 8 and never let go of it.

Describe your hair

Victoria: I would classify myself as a 4a/4b texture. My hair is right in between being thin and thick.

Dasia: I would describe my hair as 4c because of how coily it is. It is definitely very thick but I love the fullness it gives me with my styles.

How long have you been natural? Has natural hair always been the norm in your family?

Victoria: I have been natural since April 2007. My family members have all had relaxers from a young age so my hair wasn’t exactly accepted in the beginning. But, now more of my family wants to go natural.

Dasia: Actually, I was natural once before and then relaxed it, so this is my second time around. On my new journey, I have been natural since February 2014.

Big chop or transition? Why?

Victoria: So, my original intent was to transition for a year but after 4 months of relaxed hair and my natural texture I decided to do the big chop.

Dasia: I transitioned for 6 months because I was afraid to let go of my relaxed ends but eventually let it go and fell in love with my hair.

What does being natural means to you? Mom, why do you think it’s important for girls to embrace their natural hair? 

Victoria: It means being who I was originally created to be. I think it’s important for girls to embrace their natural hair because there is nothing wrong with it. We have been ashamed for too long of our hair so I think it is necessary for girls to learn more and appreciate their natural beauty.

Dasia: Being natural to me means embracing yourself and not having to change for the worlds standards.

What are your favorite products?

Victoria: Cantu Shea Butter Leave in conditioner, Suave’s Natural Infusion Moisturizing Conditioner, and Eco Styler gel (the green one)

Dasia: Currently, my two favorite products are coconut oil and Shea Moisture’s Curl Enhancing Smoothie

unnamed

Protective styles? If so which are your favorite and why? How often do you do protective styling? 

Victoria: I two strand twist my hair every week.

Dasia: I used protective styles a lot at the beginning of my hair journey. A lot of box braids and senegalese twists.

What is your hair routine?

Victoria: I co-wash once a week and put leave in conditioner and oil in my hair before styling it.

Dasia: I wash my hair every 3 or 4 days. Every time I wash it, I deep condition it. Then I will two strand twist my hair and rock a twist out for a few days before I repeat the process again.

Do you use any heat on your hair? Why or why not?

Victoria: No, I don’t use heat on my hair. Maybe once every 2 years just to see how much it has grown.

Dasia: I rarely use heat, maybe the blow dryer once every few months to stretch my hair. But I try to steer clear of it because I feel like I can retain more moisture without it.

What is the hardest part about being natural?

Victoria: I would say other people’s perception of my hair is the hardest part.

Dasia: The hardest part for me would have to be patience when it comes to detangling and washing it my hair.

What is your favorite hairstyle?

Victoria: I use to like pulling my hair up into a puff but now I like my twist outs.

Dasia: I love, love, loveeee twist outs. It never fails me.

Who is/are your hair crush(s)?

Victoria: My daughter and my friend from high school who inspired me to go natural.

Dasia: On Instagram and YouTube i follow @naptural85 . I love her personality and she has a lot of tutorials and advice that anynatural can use.

unnamed (1)

What inspires you?

Victoria: My family.

Dasia: Definitely my parents.

Do you have any sites or social media accounts you would like people to contact or follow you on?

We share a page on Instagram : @curlyandcoily

Subscribe for more natural beauties.

Facebook || Twitter || Instagram

One Comment Add yours

Let us know what you think!