Natural Beauty Tiffany

My name is Tiffany Jones. I am 22 years old and I live in Clarksville, TN. I am a substitute teacher and a soldier in the TN Army National Guard. I went natural because I was tired of the way my hair was looking after every relaxer.  Once upon a time I had gorgeous thick long hair, and over time it just began to get thinner and thinner. So after a bit of research I decided to go natural.  In my spare time I love to read. I have been a reader even before I really knew how to read. Haha. My mother used to give me books to look at while she was doing her homework and I would sit there and look at every page and try to mimic was she was doing. I also love to paint and travel. I haven’t gone to many places yet but I will continue to travel as long as I can.

FullSizeRender (2)

How long have you been natural?

I have been natural for 3 years and 8 months and I did sort of a transition before my BC. I say sort of because there wasn’t a big gap between my last relaxer and my BC. I had received my last relaxer in April of 2011 and then BC’ed in October of 2011. After my last relaxer I did braidouts over the summer and then got senegalese twists in August before school started. I took them down in October and my hair was a tangled mess. I didn’t know what to do. I felt either take the pain of combing it out or just cut it and since I had planned to go natural I said hey why not?! After I cut my hair I immediately regretted it. My brother had come and told me I looked like a boy and my curls weren’t “poppin” like I thought they should. lol I had a hair appointment scheduled for the very next day. I did not yet have the courage to rock my hair at the length that it was. So it took me two months of senegalese twists and a sew in before I was able to wear my natural hair out. January of 2012 was my new beginning and I haven’t looked back since!

Describe your hair texture

My hair texture would more than likely be considered 4c if you follow the hair typing system. If not I would say I probably have the coarsest hair type there is. My curls are incredibly small and tight and
are only really visible when they are wet and or full of conditioner. It is INCREDIBLY thick. Some people say that they do not use detangling brushes or anything but their fingers to detangle their hair. I
personally cannot imagine my hair without my denman brush. lol! The fact that my hair is super thick and very coarse I believe adds to the fact that I cannot hold product in my hair very long. In the
beginning of my journey I was a product junkie. Trying things left and right thinking that it would magically make my hair like @MsVaughnTV or @Naptural85 not knowing that they had different textures
than I did. I would try a product and my hair would be so dry the next day like I had not put anything in it at all.

We hear you run a business

I started my business without really knowing. I was looking for a product that would help keep my hair moisturized. So I did a bit of research and tried to make up my own hair cream. When I finalized
my product I hadn’t planned on selling it. I just made myself some and gave my mom and aunts some for Christmas. My aunt was the one who told me that I should sell it; I didn’t think I could. I didn’t
think anyone would buy it. So after a year of sitting on the idea, coming up with a name and getting the products together I finally started to sell them! The product is called African Shea Kreme and it
comes in Ivory and Yellow. I sell it through my website allabouttiff.com which also features hair tips and product reviews.

What does being natural mean to you?

Being natural means to just embrace you. Everything that you are, everything that God made you to be, embrace it! Growing up a lot of my self esteem relied on my hair, when my hair was bad I felt bad.
So going natural was tough for me especially when my hair didn’t turn out the way I thought it should. So as I continued on my journey I learned that I had to work with what God gave me and be happy
with myself. If I didn’t like me no one else was going to. Since Ive been natural I have been beyond happy with myself. Even on a bad day (to me) I get compliments. It’s a different world and I love it.FullSizeRender (1)

Tell us about your hair routine

My hair routine is not as long and detailed as the ones I have seen but it still feels pretty lengthy to me. Once a week, I wash my hair either with a co wash or with my cream of nature shampoo and
conditioner, apply a leave in and twist my hair with my African Shea Kreme. My hair is very hard to style if I do not put in some form of twists or braids to stretch it first. Its an extra step but it helps with
styling later on. Every other week or about twice a month I will get out the steamer and sit under there for about an hour. Nothing too fancy.

 

Do you use heat?

I use very little heat, if ever on my hair. Why? Mainly because I am afraid to. I just feel like everything will give me heat damage. Seriously. I went to the salon for my 21st birthday once and got my hair
straightened. It was bomb but later on one section of my hair wasn’t as curly anymore and that hurt my feelings. I had to do a little extra to that part of my hair to mask the damage. So as of now I only
do heat once a year and that is to get my annual birthday blowout and flat iron. lol I even went on a hunt for a blow dryer that had a cool setting instead of just the cool shot button. I may be a little more
free with the heat one day, but I can’t see that right now.

What are your favorite products?

My favorite products would have to be the Creme of Nature Argan Oil line. I absolutely love everything in that line, except the newest products they have and thats only because I haven’t had a chance
to try them yet. They smell so good and keep my hair feeling and looking great. I also have a few favorites from the Shea Moisture line like the Raw Shea Butter Deep Treatment Masque and the
Coconut and Hibiscus Curl Enhancing Smoothie. I also love the way the Jamaican Black Castor Oil Strengthen, Grow & Restore Leave in Conditioner makes my hair feel and smell. Also a summer time
favorite would be the Herbal Essence Hello Hydration conditioner. Its perfect for wash and go’s and it doesn’t dry out my hair.

Do you do any protective styling?

I guess you could say that I am always protective styling. My hair stays in twists most of the time. Mainly because I haven’t decided to branch out and try any different styles. Aside from that I do
occasionally go to this African lady, who is local (clarksville, ft. campbell area) and get senegalese twists or braids.

FullSizeRender (4)

What is the hardest part about being natural?

The hardest part about being natural is just having patience. Having the patience to continue trying to perfect that style I saw on youtube. Or even the patience to just wait and let my hair grow.

What’s your favorite part?

My favorite part about being natural is that even when I’m having what feels like a bad hair day, I still get compliments on my hair. I also like that I can do pretty much anything to my hair. Just throw a
few pins here and there and voila!

What are your favorite hairstyles?

My favorite hairstyle, though not always practical is a really cute fro. One where I do a twist out but I continue to pull apart my hair to where its still a lil curly but its not really a twist out anymore. My
favorite convenient hairstyle would be two flat twist on both sides of my hair.

Hair crush???

My hair crushes would have to be Jess from MahoganyCurls, Whitney aka @Naptural85 and Chime Edwards. All three of these ladies have AMAZING hair!

Any advice for new naturals?

My advice would just be to go for it! You may not think you will look good in your natural curls, but why wouldn’t you?? God made those curls. Rock them girl!

FullSizeRender

What inspires you?

Black women supporting other black women, like truly wanting to see our sisters succeed inspires me. It makes me feel so good inside to see that.

How can our readers connect with you?

Instagram – @itsallabouttiff  @tiffanynicolenaturals
Twitter – @TNNaturals
Website – allabouttiff.com
Facebook – Tiffany Nicole Naturals

4 Comments Add yours

Let us know what you think!