Natural Beauty| Tiffany

 

I met Tiffany my senior year of high school during a scholarship pageant in our community.  Our initial connection n began with having the same name (as it does with all Tiffanys) but her kind heart and driven personality really stuck out to me. As the years have gone by I’ve had the chance, thanks to social media, to see her accomplish her goals + become a very inspiring woman.  Mother, wife, registered nurse, and one hell of a naturalista; Tiffany exudes all of the #BlackGirlMagic we were looking for this month. Not only does she have amazing natural hair, but she is also passionate about her career and her family.

-Tiff

image (2)

Hello beautiful people! My name is Tiffany. I’m 26 years old and I work as a Registered Nurse in Labor and Delivery. I have a 4 year old little girl, who is my pride and joy. I went natural because I was tired of the process of relaxing my hair. The rule of not scratching your scalp and feeling the intense burning sensation was getting old. Also having a little girl made me want to show her that she doesn’t need to alter her hair texture to feel beautiful. So during my pregnancy I transitioned and allowed my natural hair to grow at the roots and kept my relaxed hair until I gave birth to my daughter. I then decided to do the big chop and had about 2 inches of my natural hair. My platform is encouraging woman of color to love and embrace their God given natural beauty. I believe it’s important for women to discover their true self and gain confidence and self-esteem to feel beautiful just the way they are.

What are your hobbies?

I enjoy watching movies, reading, bowling, cooking, working out, traveling, and researching about natural hair

Tell us about your hair

My hair is kinky coily. I have very tight corkscrew-like curls. It is extremely thick, hence why I usually have it styled majority of the time (twist outs, up do’s, etc)

Big chop or transition?

I did both. I transitioned for about 9 months then did the big chop because I didn’t want to have a fade. I wanted to have a little bit of hair to start my journey. It’s just a personal preference.

th2

What being natural means to you?

Being natural to me is accepting and loving your hair despite the criticism and opinions of others. It’s freeing to know that I have beautiful hair no matter if it’s straight, curly, short, or long. It’s MINE.

What are your favorite products?

My favorite products are Camille Rose Almond twisting butter, Miss Jessie’s curling crème, and Deva Curl Heaven in hair hydrating conditioner, I also like to use Shea Moisture products as well.

Do you have any favorite hair accessories?

I like wearing head scarves and decorated headbands.

What is your hair routine?

I use the LOC (liquid, oil, cream) method. I use water to spritz my hair then use coconut oil to moisturize, and then a leave in conditioner or cream based hair lotion to seal in the moisture.

Do you use any heat on your hair? Why or why not?

After 3 years of being natural I decided to get my hair straightened professionally to see the actual length I obtained over the years. Unfortunately I experienced critical heat damage to my ends and after several attempts to repair the damage I had no choice but to cut the damaged hair off.

image (1)

Do you have any straightening or curling methods that you prefer?

If I were ever to straighten my hair again I would use a good heat protectant and put the straightener on the lowest heat setting. For curling methods I prefer to do twist outs. It’s easy to do and doesn’t take too much of my time.

Do you do any protective styling?

If so how often and what are some of your favorite styles? Yes I do braids and two strand twists. I do protective styles about every other month.

What are your thoughts on natural hair weaves?

I really don’t understand the point or objective of natural weaves for women of color. Majority of women who pay for the weaves have better hair than the weave if they allowed their natural curl pattern to grow. They are spending money for the very thing that is growing out of their own scalp.

What is the hardest part about being natural?

The hardest part of being natural are wash days. It’s a tedious process especially if you have long hair. I have to section my hair into 4 sections then detangle, wash, and condition each section. I usually spend about 2-3 hours detangling, washing, and deep conditioning my hair.

th3

What is your favorite hairstyle?

My favorite hairstyle is a flat twist out into an updo with bangs in the front.

Who is/are your hair crush(s)?

My hair crush is Ebony also known as EClark6 on Instagram

What inspires you?

POSITIVITY

Do you have any sites or social media accounts you would like people to contact or follow you on?

IG BEYOUTIFFUL_QUEEN   FB Tiffany Nicole

Let us know what you think!