Interview Takeaways

Last month President Obama and Misty Copeland sat down with Times reporter Maya Rhodan for a very candid conversation. During their talk the two discussed race, body image, representation and so much more.  I’m  super late viewing this interview being that I only saw it a few weeks ago, but it really touched me. I enjoyed so much listening to the two talk openly about their experiences with success and being African American.  Also watching (and hearing) their reactions to what it’s like being in the other’s shoes was really eye opening.

To me this interview is not only important for my culture to hear, but also my generation. So many of the messages and topics would not only allow us to better ourselves but those around and coming up after us.

Below I’ve taken out a few snippets that really hit home with me, but if you get a chance sit down and listen to the entire thing.

obama-daughters-01-800

Men should be invested in their daughter’s lives

“As a father of two daughters one of the things I’m always looking for are strong women who are out there who are breaking barriers who are doing great stuff.” -President Obama (on the importance of women like Misty Copeland)

“Women are put under enormous pressure to look a certain way…The pressure, I think, is historically always has been harder on African American women” – President Obama (on race + gender issues)

misty

Representation is IMPORTANT but children also need resources

“I hope young men of color are looking at me and saying ‘I can aspire to be the president, or a senator…’” – President Obama (on representation)

“It’s necessary especially when you’re dealing with a field that’s never really been open to reaching out to communities that don’t have the access, who don’t have the exposure., and the means to be a part of something.  Especially that so niche as the classical ballet world.” -Misty Copeland (on affirmative action)

“It’s wonderful that the potential dancer can see Misty and say ‘I can do that’ but if there is no dance studio at all in their neighborhood and if their schools don’t offer any extracurricular activities at all or if their school is chronically underfunded than there is going to be a problem .” –President Obama (on the necessity of resources)

..and hope

“Yeah it’s going to be harder for you than it is for someone else, but that’s ok…Kids are extraordinarily resilient if they believe that they can make something happen.” -President Obama (on underprivileged youth)

June14_copeland

Observe before you react

“Being shy going into a setting where I was the only black women allowed me to observe more rather than to react. I think it saved me a lot and taught me a lot.” -Misty Copeland (on being the one of the only black women in her field.

“There are ways that you have to approach situation that are difficult and may not be fair, but it’s how you represent yourself. You may be carrying a responsibility that you don’t want, but it is what it is being African American.” -Misty Copeland (on reacting first)

Don’t get caught up with race

“Trying to not get too caught up and too wrapped up and too weighted down with being black and trying to just be the best person and the best dancer that I can be and work harder than even if I see the person next to me that things may be a little easier for them. I’m going to try to push myself even harder than them.  I think that being African American has been a huge obstacle for me, but it’s also allowed me to have this fire inside of me that I don’t know that I would have or have had if I weren’t in this field.” –Misty (on being one of few black women in her field)

mybrotherskeeper

Activists should be open-minded

“Part of what having a successful social movement has involved is having a certain righteous anger about injustices being done to you, but also understanding that the people who are on the other side of this they’ve got their own history and their circumstances.  And you have to understand that, and understand that each of us have some good and some bad in us.” – President Obama (on activism)

“When you look at how social change has happened throughout history, including in our country, it’s been because we can project ourselves into the circumstances of other people.”-
President Obama (on activism)

BjDBGc0IUAAFY6r

View the interview in its entirety here and check out my latest personal piece on finding my inner magic here. As always don’t forget to subscribe to our newsletter. We’ve got a big giveaway coming soon!!

t

 

Let us know what you think!