4 Fashion Myths Debunked

DSCN1490

No-one hates a fashion myth more than yours truly. I appreciate rules, just not in fashion. Fashion should be fun, creative, and a distinct representation of who you are, on that day. One reason I adore fashion is the ability to transform yourself into the person you aspire to be. If you follow me on Instagram, you know my excitement for spring cannot be contained. With a new season comes new trends, obsessions and myths to break. Here are a few rules to discard this season so you can be as fly as you want to be, queen!

Related Article: Pay Day Spring Wish List

#1: Sequins and metallics are for night only. We all know this to be a lie, but I have to put it on the record. With current fashion constantly mixing high and low, evening and day – these accessories can work just about any time. If you watched any of the 2016 runway shows, you’ll see a ton of sparkle coming for this fall. Get a jumpstart and invest in some pieces like culottes or a funky blazer – you can always play up or down sparkler.

#2: Your bag should match your shoes. I’m not sure what icon made this outrageous statement, but I am so glad I don’t live in that era. I’m all for matching, but goodness it doesn’t need to be everything, all the time. Use your shoes and handbags to play off one another and compliment the outfit as a whole. Bags are gaining speed in their own right, so now makes the perfect time to really get creative.

Related Article: The Spring Beauty Trends To Covet

#3: No mixing prints. This is one of my favorite trends right now. You can have so much fun with mixing and matching different prints. AH, it just makes me so happy. Utilizing prints is a quick way to jumpstart your fashion inspo, and create a great personal style. If you’re weary about trying this trend, opt for prints in neutral colors and work your way up from there.

#4: No white before Memorial Day or after Labor Day. It’s safe to say celebrities have successfully thrown this rule out the window with a slew of all-white outfits gracing the red carpet, press events and interviews galore. But, it’s just now catching on with the average woman, partly because – who can ever really keep white that pristine? It took me a little to jump on this bandwagon, but I’m happy I did. White outfits just make you feel crisp and new, perfect for bringing in the winds of spring. INSIDER TIP: Bring a Tide To-Go pen wherever you go.

I hope some of these help you in getting ready for spring! I’m not claiming to be an expert, but I also don’t think rules were meant for fashion. It seems like you guys loved the how-to series for tie-up heels, so I’m excited to explore more trends and share them with you! If you haven’t caught the series, click here to read about it.

What’s the rule you’re breaking for Spring?
Are you trying the all-white trend this year?!
Share your suggestions, tips and comments below, or chat with us on Twitter!

courtney-simpson-tiff-and-coco

Have you heard about our awesome newsletter?! Sign up below to get the tea on everything your heart desires!

 

Let us know what you think!