How To Change Your Perspective

We’re all guilty of it. You’re just scrolling through Instagram late at night and, all of the sudden, you’re bombarded by beautiful people. You get this piercing stab in your stomach as you start to compare every aspect of their life to yours. How is her hair so healthy? Why is she always traveling? A promotion that fast? How in the hell did HE buy a house? After a painful midnight session, you start to see it everywhere. The girl that sits next to you at work has a new watch; your best friend gets recruited by an awesome company; or your boyfriend is kicking ass at his new job. It can all be overwhelming at times, a giant reminder of things you seemingly aren’t doing in life. If you don’t catch yourself, you can downward spiral into the abyss.

IMG_0165

Getting a new perspective when you have this mindset is not easy. When you’re in a state of constant comparison, it can be hard to focus on what is right in front of you. We all get wrapped up in the small complexities of life, especially if you work in an industry where you’re constantly plugged in. During a recent staycation in Nashville, I relaxed and got some insight on how to change my perspective to improve my success. Sending tons of thanks to The Courtyard Marriott for hosting us, and making everything so lovely. If you’re looking for a central location to stay while visiting The Music City, this would be my best suggestion.

IMG_0164
Related Article: 4 Fashion Myths To Break This Season

IMG_0151

  1. Daily Affirmations. If you’re a reader of the blog, you may already know how much we preach about daily affirmations. You will always be your biggest fan, so it’s up to you to pump yourself up. Taking just 5 minutes each day to connect with yourself, and tell your mind what it needs to hear, can be path-changing. A tiny bit of motivation, encouragement, or even a boost of self-esteem could change your whole day.
  2. Reward yourself. The reward system is used in a variety of ways, and tends to work successfully in most of them. Reinforce your good feelings of yourself a little clap on the back when you check something off your list. We all need a lesson in loving ourselves a bit more, I know I do.

    IMG_0152
    IMG_0154

  3.  Reconnect with your purpose. Your purpose is something you should focus on everyday. Unfortunately, we don’t ways get the time for that, or so we think. Reconnecting with your purpose can take 2 minutes or 30. Drop everything and take a moment to visualize what parts of your life inspire you, and hold onto that.
  4. Compare but not materialistically. Instead of comparing your life to your friends, compare to others in the world. Whenever I get into a mood of self pity, I visualize the children of third world countries with no running water,  or the sweet kid on Ellen dancing his way through cancer. Suddenly, the annoyance of not being where I’m ‘suppose’ to be doesn’t seem so big. Whenever I need a boost to my ego, I read about powerful women who have overcome challenges, tragedies, losses; this helps me to pick myself back up, and get on with it. It’s important to understand that many have felt the way you feel right now, and many have come back from that. The universe is a changing, growing system – trust and build your creative space within it.

Related Article: 4 Ways Efficiency Can Help Your Success

IMG_0160

cropped-img_0154.jpg

Pants: Express // Shirt: Forever 21 // Sweater: Forever 21 (found one like it, this one is sold out) // Shoes: Charlotte Russe // Purse: Michael Kors (Couldn’t find my Nine West one, either)

IMG_0157

IMG_0156

IMG_0158

Like and comment below for more travel and lifestyle articles! Don’t forget to hit that subscribe button for new fashion, beauty and lifestyle content every week.

If you’re also working on changing your mindset, what tricks are you incorporating in your lifestyle? I would love to discuss all the methods available.

Don’t forget, we’re always chatting and dishing on Twitter, so go follow if you aren’t already. I really hope you all enjoyed this article and found it helpful in some way. You can shop all my looks above, too!

courtney-simpson-tiff-and-coco

8 Comments Add yours

  1. faithforthepineapple says:

    Awesome post!

    Like

  2. Wonderful post! Just what I needed! You are beautiful!

    Like

    1. Tiff + Coco says:

      Thank you! It’s always fun to explore a new way of thinking. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  3. chelree says:

    Thanks for writing this up! I especially like the bit about daily affirmations. It’s something I used to do a lot more of in the past, and I would love to get back into the habit, so I like the little reminder. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Tiff + Coco says:

      Thanks so much for reading and showing some love, I’m glad you enjoyed the piece. I also try to recite affirmations every morning, and set my mind up for success.

      Like

  4. nayardt says:

    Lovely post!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Tiff + Coco says:

      Thank you for stopping by and the sweet words, love!

      Liked by 1 person

Let us know what you think!